Personal Life

My First Job

First off, let me apologize for not posting in over a week for those of you that keep up with my blog (keep spreading the word about how awesome it is! *please and thank you*). If this is your first time reading my blog: I appreciate the steps you took to get here and I hope you decide to take the time and read through my past posts and hit that subscribe button in the bottom right corner! I promise you will not be disappointed…

I have been very busy this past week and could not find a time to sit down and type out the happenings of my life or the thoughts that have flitted through my brain. A major event happened this past week in my life: I got my first ever job! I now work at a gas station and there is so much information to try and absorb that I always have this tiny part of me that is afraid of messing up. I already knew the people that work in gas stations work very hard, but I do not think I ever truly knew just how hard they work. Since I have started working, I can testify to just how hard and tiring the job is. Here are a few of the things I have already learned…

  • There are so many different types and brands of cigarettes. So. Many. I do not smoke so I had no clue just how many there are. I have been in gas stations plenty of times, but I never notice or really look through their cigarette supply. tenor2
  • My job is to work the register and help with the front of the store whether it be stocking, cleaning, or other side work. Since being at the register, I have really  started to appreciate the customers that use their credit or debit cards to pay because it just makes my job so much easier. idiva_gifs_things_a_person_suffering_from_anxiety_wants_to_tell_her_friends_8_1
  • Trying to change the trash outside while it is windy is one of the hardest things I think I will ever do. It. Is. Windy. All. The. Time. It is especially more difficult when you have to double line all the trash cans. It is a lot like trying to keep your umbrella under control during a windy rain storm…tRY4Rg
  • Ask questions if you are not sure what you are doing. It is best to have something done right rather than risking the task getting done incorrectly. zJDk7_s-200x150
  • Last, but not least, be kind and patient with all customers. No matter the mood the customer is in, take it in stride and smile with pride. Ha…see what I did there? I am a poet and I did not know it. emma-watson-laugh-smile

 

I only have two more shifts left before I am considered done with training for the most part. Am I nervous? I would not be me if I was not. Jobs are not meant to be “easy peasy lemon squeezy”. I am ready to tackle this next step in my life before going back to school and classes in August!

Any thoughts or comments? Type below or like always, shoot me an email! (Found in the ‘contact’ section of my blog)

~Lex

 

 

Leave a Reply

