College, Personal Life

Decluttering for a Peace of Mind

Everyone has a pet peeve and sometimes even more than one. I have multiple, but for this post I will focus on one of my main pet peeves. The culprit: DISORGANIZATION/UNORGANIZATION. (There is a slight difference in meaning between the two words, but in my case I will be using both to stand for the same thing)

Right now, my room is the epitome of disorganization and has been for almost a week now. I just recently came back home from college for the summer and brought back everything that was in my dorm. I noticed first off that I was going to have issues unpacking, but the mountain I had to tackle became a lot bigger when I began to put away clothes. I could not get them all to fit at all! How did I end up with so many clothes??? I had to shove random articles of clothing in drawers that I would never put them in. My closet was overflowing and I felt defeated. A couple days later I came to a realization that not only were my summer clothes out, but so were most of my fall/winter clothes. For those of you reading this, do yourself a favor and store away your winter clothes when it is summer and the opposite for when it is fall/winter. I got lazy last summer because I was too busy stressing about my first year of college. It made a HUGE difference in my closet because just picking out a select few articles to give to Goodwill will not make a dent. Trust me, I tried that tactic first.

I still have piles of winter clothing stacked on my floor waiting to be stored away, but I have made bounds and leaps when it comes to the organization of my clothes and I will definitely be more mindful when I pack for my next semester at school. Even though my clothes may be close to decluttered, I still have crates and trash bags full of miscellaneous items to unpack from my dorm room. Because of this, my next step is to declutter my entire room. I am going to go through and make tough decisions on what things I should keep, give away, or throw away. Most likely, my room will get even more messier than it already is before it gets clean. If you could see my room right now, you would be wondering how I make it to my bed to sleep at night.

Overall, I am an organized person in all parts of my life. There may be times where I become disorganized, but I do not let it last for long. This organized part of me has slowly been losing its mind over the state of my room. I am going to declutter, declutter, and declutter some more until organization has won over yet again. Luckily, I received my new Life Planner by Erin Condren *pictured below* in the mail the other day and I cannot wait to begin using it. It will definitely help keep even more organization in my life.

 

Are you an organized or unorganized person? Leave me your thoughts and comments below or shoot me an email! I love discussing different ways to stay organized 🙂

~Lex

Leave a Reply

