Personal Life

A Love/Hate Relationship

It’s 4 a.m. in the morning and all you want to do is sleep, but then a crackle of lightning sounds and not long after you are fully awakened by the loud boom of thunder. You roll your eyes to stare at the ceiling and pray that the end of this storm is near even though it has just begun…

At least, this is how it usually goes for me no matter what time of the night it is when a storm impedes on my sleep. As a little girl, I would go sprinting into my parents bedroom to tap my mom on the shoulder and then admit in a trembling voice, “I’m scared, can I sleep with you guys?” If I am being completely honest, I just did not want to have to lie in an empty bed waiting for the storm to be over when I could be safely tucked away between the two people that care for me the most. Presently, at 19 years of age, I have not gotten much better when it comes to dealing with storms. If I am at home, there are still those times where I will go walking (not sprinting) to my parents room to inform them that I am awake and might need to stay the night with them because when it comes to storms, I am and probably always be, a partly-scared little girl.

Being at college and waking up in the middle of the night because of a stupid storm is no fun at all. This happened just last night and I was not necessarily scared, but I was frustrated. This week seemed to last forever and last night my one wish was to get a good night’s sleep which obviously did not happen. As you can see, all of what I have mentioned so far is a part of the ‘hate’ side to the relationship.

Now, the ‘hate’ portion of the relationship greatly outweighs the ‘love’ portion, but it is still there. There have been rare times in my life where I wake up feeling as though I just had the best sleep of my life and then someone in my family gives me the best news: I slept through an awful thunderstorm and even my sister woke up from it. After recovering from my shocked expression, I smile like I have just won an award. This is one instance where I love thunderstorms; the challenge of sleeping through a storm is one I rarely conquer so the satisfaction is quite big when it actually happens.

Of course, storms do not only occur during the night, but also let their presence be known during the daytime on occasion. I do not mind those at all, as long as I am able to be inside for the duration. The only instances that daytime storms get to me is when they produce a tornado watch or warning, but we will not get into that because that it just a whole other level of scared for me…

What about you? Are you a storm lover? Hater? Or more hate and a little love like me?

~Lex

 

Leave a Reply

